Design assignment special coin for collectors: Anton Geesink

On behalf of the Ministry of Finance, De Nederlandsche Bank is looking for visual artists, designers and creators who would like to design a special coin to be issued in 2021 to commemorate Olympic champion Anton Geesink.


In 1964 judo debuted as an official sport at the Summer Olympics in Tokyo, Japan. During this first edition Anton Geesink defeated, against all odds, the Japanese favorite Akio Kaminaga and thus won the title in the open class. With his victory he has particularly contributed to the (inter)national professionalization of the judo sport.

Now that the Olympic Games in 2021 will once again be held in Tokyo, this is a great time to commemorate this national sports icon with a coin.

The Anton Geesink 5 euro coin is intended to illustrate the importance of Anton Geesink to Dutch sports and is part of the coin series Dutch sports icons. This series commemorates historical Dutch sports icons, which have a special place in the national sports memory. Previously a Johan Cruijff coin, the Fanny Blankers-Koen coin and the Jaap Eden coin were issued.


Visual artists, designers and moulders interested in this assignment are requested to by 22 January 2021 10.00 hour:

- a CV and:

- a portfolio: in connection with current corona measures we would like to receive digital Documentation material that gives a good impression of your work. To be delivered in a Pdf file. No initial sketches or ideas about the assignment.

Further procedure

From the submitted portfolios the Coin Advisory Committee will ask a limited number of artists to submit a design for an Anton Geesink coin. These selected artists will have approximately 5 weeks to make a design. For the selected artists a workshop will be organized by the Royal Dutch Mint where the artists will receive instruction on technical aspects relevant to the design of a coin.


- There is no fee for sending in a digital portfolio.

- For the creation of a design by selected artists the Ministry of Finance provides a compensation of €5000 (ex VAT).

- For the transfer of the copyright on the design chosen by the State Secretary of Finance and for the work involved in developing the design further, the Ministry of Finance pays a fee of € 13,000 (ex VAT).

Coin Advisory Committee

The Mint Advisory Committee, which selects the designers based on the submitted portfolios, is composed of: Els van Odijk (former director of the Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten in Amsterdam), Stani Michiels and Lex Pott (both visual artists), Martin Bloemendal (numismatist), has as secretary Annemieke de Gooijer (De Nederlandsche Bank) and has as chairman Irma Dollen (Ministry of Finance).

The Coin Advisory Committee will also eventually evaluate the submitted designs and report to the State Secretary of Finance.

Please send your CV and portfolio no later than 22 January 2021 10.00 to and

For questions, please email: and .

More Articles